New user, registration is FREE Sign In  

Yale (New Haven, CT): Cherrie Moraga Brudner Prize Winner Lecture and Reception
written by Natasha, 9/19/13 3:53pm
edited by Natasha, 9/19/13 12:54pm

"Man Up". Queer Feminism After All These Years. 5 pm Brudner lecture at Sudler Hall (floor 2A in WLH), 100 Wall Street, New Haven, CT. Free and open to the Public. 6:30 pm reception.

Join us for the James Robert Brudner '83 Memorial Prize Lecture with Cherríe Moraga

Established in 2000, the Brudner Prize is awarded annually to an accomplished scholar or activist, in loving memory of Jim Brudner (Yale '83). 

James Robert Brudner '83 was an AIDS activist, urban planner, journalist, and photographer, and a Yale GALA member. A man of wit and compassion, outsized knowledge and curiosity, Jim valued both academic inquiry and direct action. He spent 12 years as a policy analyst for the City of New York. He also earned an MA in journalism from New York University and wrote for various publications on gay and AIDS-related topics. Jim became a member of ACT UP, the Treatment Action Group (TAG), and other organizations after the death of his twin brother, Eric, of AIDS in 1987. He worked on treatment and prevention issues with the National Institutes of Health (NIH), pharmaceutical corporations, and federal agencies. In his final years he devoted much of his time to traveling the back roads of rural America with a camera. La Mama Gallery in New York mounted an exhibition of his photographs in 1997. Jim died of AIDS-related illness on September 18, 1998 at the age of 37. Through his will, he established the Brudner Prize at Yale as "a perpetual annual prize" for scholarship and activism on gay and lesbian issues. 

Recipients of the Brudner Prize:
         2000   George Chauncey
         2001   Lillian Faderman
         2002   Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick
         2003   Jonathan Ned Katz
         2004   Judith Butler
         2005   John D'Emilio
         2006   Matt Coles
         2007   B. Ruby Rich
         2008   No honoree

2008-2009  Cathy Cohen

2009-2010  Edwin Cameron 
2010-2011  Mary Bonauto
2011-2012  David M. Halperin
2012-2013 Samuel R. Delany
2013-2014 Cherrie Moraga

© Copyright Yale Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae Association, Inc., ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Alumni Development Software