New user, registration is FREE Sign In  

NYC: The Jim Brudner Prize Winner Lecture and Reception with Carolyn Dinshaw
written by Natasha, 10/9/12 6:51pm
edited by Natasha, 2/8/18 12:57pm

Professor Carolyn Dinshaw is the 2017-18 Jim Brudner '83 Prize Winner Join us Thursday, February 8, 2018 6-8 PM in NYC (208 W. 13th St, Room 301, NYC) - 7 PM Lecture + Reception 6-7 PM RSVP for FREE tickets:

Professor Carolyn Dinshaw is the 2017-18 James Robert Brudner ’83 Memorial Prize Winner. 

1. Join us in New York City: 

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 8, 2018 6-8 PM.  At the LGBT Center, Room 301, 208 W. 13th St, NYC. Lecture & Q&A (7-8 PM) plus Reception (6-7 PM)
RSVP for free tickets 


Please join us for a gracious reception and to welcome and honor Professor Carolyn Dinshaw, the winner of the 2017-2018 Brudner Prize, in NYC (2-8-2018) and at Yale (2-7-2018). 

Carolyn Dinshaw (Bryn Mawr BA, Princeton Ph.D and current NYU Professor of English and Women's Studies) has long been fascinated by the relationship between the past and present, particularly concerning gender and sexuality.  In her book Caucer's Sexual Poetics (1989) she investigated the connection of past and present via the Western discursive tradition of gender. In Getting Medieval: Sexualities and Communities, Pre-and Postmodern (1999), she developed the concept of "touching across time".  Dinshaw is also the co-founder of GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies -- the flagship journal of the field -- and created the Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality at NYU, serving as its first director (1999-2005).
The Brudner Prize, established in 2000, is awarded annually to an accomplished scholar, artist or activist whose work has made significant contributions to LGBT studies and communities. The Brudner prize-winner gives a Prize Lecture at Yale (2-7-2018) and in New York City (on 2-8-2018 and organized by Yale GALA, Inc.) and comes with a $5,000 award.

RSVP link for Free Tickets for NYC event: 

2. And At Yale University 


Lecture 4:30 PM at Sudler Hall, WLH (100 Wall St, New Haven, CT).  
Followed by cocktail reception in Room WLH 309 with Professor Dinshaw  
Cost: FREE and open to the public. No RSVP is required for the Yale event.

For info about the Jim Brudner '83 prize visit

The Brudner award is administered by LGBT Studies at Yale.    

About The 2017-18 Brudner Award Winner: 

About the Jim Brudner Yale '83 Memorial Prize 

The Jim Brudner Prize, established in 2000, is awarded annually to an accomplished scholar or activist whose work has made significant contributions to the understanding of LGBT issues or furthered the tolerance of LGBT people. The Brudner prize winner gives a Prize Lecture at Yale and in New York City. The prize comes with an award of $5,000.

James Brudner was an AIDS activist, urban planner, journalist, photographer and a beloved Yale GALA Member. A man of wit and compassion, outsized knowledge and curiosity, Jim valued both academic inquiry and direct action. He spent 12 years as a policy analyst for the City of New York. He also earned an MA in journalism from New York University and wrote for various publications on gay and AIDS-related topics. Jim became a member of ACT UP, the Treatment Action Group, and other organizations after the death of his twin brother, Eric, of AIDS in 1987. He worked on treatment and prevention issues with the National Institutes of Health, pharmaceutical corporations, and federal agencies. In his final years he devoted much of his time to traveling the back roads of rural America with a camera. La Mama Gallery in New York mounted an exhibition of his photographs in 1997. Jim died of AIDS-related illness on September 18, 1998 at the age of 37. Through his will, he established the Brudner Prize at Yale as “a perpetual annual prize” for scholarship and activism on gay and lesbian history and contemporary experience.

For more information about the life of Jim Brudner '83, please visit:

Recipients of the Jim Brudner '83 Prize:

2000   George Chauncey
2001   Lillian Faderman
2002   Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick
2003   Jonathan Ned Katz
2004   Judith Butler
2005   John D’Emilio
2006   Matt Coles
2007   B. Ruby Rich
2008-2009 Cathy Cohen
2009-2010 Edwin Cameron
2010-2011 Mary Bonauto
2011-2012 David M. Halperin
2012-2013 Samuel R. Delany
2013-2014 Cherríe Moraga 
2014-2015 Richard Dyer
2015-2016 Susan O. Stryker
2016-2017 Issac Julien
2017-2018 Carolyn Dinshaw

About the Jim Brudner Prize:

Event info:


© Copyright Yale Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae Association, Inc., ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Alumni Development Software